nevmasonbooks.com

PayPal

creditcards5.png

Reviews

HULL DAILY MAIL 29.07.13

HULL DAILY MAIL


OLD BIKE MART 03.09.15

Bike Kid Review


COMMENTS AND EXTRACTS FROM AN EMAIL FROM RAY BARNES IN WESTERN AUSTRALIA   1.10.2015 

HI NEV,

I REALLY ENJOYED READING YOUR 'THE BIKE KID' SERIES OF BOOKS. THEY GET MY HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION AND I HOPE YOU WRITE MORE BIKE RELATED BOOKS SOON. 

YOUR  'ROAD RACE KIDS' AND THE 'DIRT KIDS' SERIES OF BOOKS ARRIVED THIS MORNING, MANY THANKS.

CHEERS RAY


EXTRACTS FROM A LETTER FROM RICHARD WINN, CUMBRIA. 20.8.15

DEAR NEV
RECENTLY FINISHED READING YOUR AUTOBIOGRAPHY AND ENJOYED EVERY WORD OF IT. WHAT A LIFE!! .......

.....ANYWAY NEV, THANKS FOR WRITING SUCH A COMPELLING, (I COULDN.T PUT IT DOWN) BOOK. ALL THE RUSSIAN STUFF WAS AMAZING WHICH ENGLISH FOLK OBVIOUSLY STILL KNOW SO LITTLE ABOUT, PARTICULARLY THEIR ENGINEERING AND SCIENTIFIC PROWESS.

RICHARD


NEV MASON'S BOOK '100%' IS AN EXCELLENT STUDY OF A MASTER ENTREPRENEUR'S MIND. IT IS ALSO THE STUDY OF THE ECONOMIC HISTORY OF POST WORLD WAR II EUROPE, THROUGH THE TRICKY BUSINESS POLITICS OF THE COLD WAR, AND TO THE EVENTUAL REORGANZATION AND GLOBALIZATION OF THE WORLD ECONOMY...AND NEV MASON WAS AT THE FRONT OF IT ALL. AS A TEACHER AND AVID MOTORCYCLIST, I WAS IMPRESSED WITH THE KNOWLEDGE AND ENTERTAINMENT I RECETVED FROM READING THIS BOOK. READ HIS BOOK AND YOU WILL BE ABLE TO RIDE IN THE SIDECAR WITH NEV ON THE ADVENTURE OF HIS LIFE AND HISTORY. THE BEST HONOUR I CAN WRITE OF THIS BOOK IS THAT I USE HIS STORIES TO ILLUSTRATE LESSONS IN THE HISTORY AND ECONOMIC COURSES I TEACH TO THE NEXT GENERATION

DAD AND BOYS

 

REVIEW BY FRANK J. JURESH III,
SOCIAL STUDIES TEACHER. M. Ed., B. Soc. Sc., A.A.
WHITEHALL, WISCONSIN, USA

 

 

 


 

EXTRACTS FROM CLASSIC DIRT BIKE MAGAZINE'S BOOK REVIEW OF NEV MASON'S AUTOBIOGRAPHY 100%

NEV, STILL ACTIVE AT 70 HAS PACKED MORE INTO HIS LIFE THAN SEEMS POSSIBLE FOR SUCH A SHORT TIME. HIS BOOK 100% TAKES ITS TITLE FROM THE AUTHOR'S BELIEF THAT IN ORDER TO BE SUCCESSFUL IT TAKES 100% EFFORT. THIS ETHOS IS EVIDENT RIGHT THROUGH THE BOOK BE IT IN CONNECTION WITH HIS BUSINESS DEALINGS OR HIS MOTORCYCLE SPORTS ACTIVITIES. TWO THINGS COME ACROSS IN THE PAGES OF THIS BOOK, FIRST THE AUTHOR'S PASSION FOR ALL THINGS TWO WHEELS AND SECOND IS, HERE'S A MAN WHO MAKES THINGS HAPPEN. IT IS WRITTEN AS SPOKEN BY THE SUBJECT. DID I ENJOY IT, YES I DID. WILL IT ENCOURAGE ME TO DIP INTO THE OTHER BOOKS BY NEV, IN PARTICULAR 'THE DIRT KIDS', A TALE OF TWO FARMING FAMILIES INVOLVEMENT IN SCRAMBLING FROM THE 1950's TO 2000. YES IT WILL.

TIM BRITTON


EXTRACTS FROM REAL CLASSIC BIKE MAGAZINE'S REVIEW OF NEV MASON'S AUTOBIOGRAPHY 100%

THIS CHUNKY PAPER BACK PRESENTS A TRULY UNUSUAL LIFE STORY. A TALE WHICH REVOLVES AROUND MOTORCYCLES AND MOTORCYCLING AND IS TOLD IN A REFRESHING DOWN TO EARTH FASHION. AS A LAD BORN DURING WORLD WAR TWO NEV MASON RARELY ATTENDED SCHOOL AND INSTEAD WORKED IN THE FAMILY BUSINESS REPAIRING MOTORCYCLES TO BE SOLD AT HIS DAD'S BIKE SHOP. HE MAY HAVE SIDESTEPPED A FORMAL EDUCATION BUT NEV LEARNED PLENTY OF OTHER LIFE LESSONS. AT 14 NEV TOOK PART IN HIS FIRST DIRT TRACK RACE ABOARD A BEEFY MATCHLESS SCRAMBLER. HE NEEDED SOME ASSISTANCE FILLING OUT THE PRE-RACE PAPERWORK BUT THAT DIDN'T STOP HIM TAKING TOP HONOURS THE VERY FIRST TIME HE TOOK TO THE TRACK, HE EARNED HIMSELF HIS SCRAMBLING NICKNAME "MAD MASON" IT WAS INEVITABLE NEV WOULD GO INTO THE BIKE BUSINESS AND WHAT FOLLOWS IS A DETAILED TALE OF HIS LIFE WHICH SPANS 7 DECADES OF IMMENSE SOCIAL, POLITICAL AND INDUSTRIAL CHANGE. HE FORMED NEVAL MOTORCYCLES WITH ALAN VOASE, (NEV AND AL OF COURSE) AND HE RECOUNTS MANY ADVENTURES BEHIND THE IRON CURTAIN. THIS MEMOIR OFFERS A REAL INSIGHT INTO HOW THE BIKE TRADE WORKED OVER THE LATTER HALF OF THE 20TH CENTURY AND HOW GRIT AND DETERMINATION CAN BREED SUCCESS.  MASON'S PERSONAL OBSERVATIONS ARE SCATTERED THROUGHOUT THE TEXT AND HIS SHEER ORNERINESS SHINES THROUGH. 'WHEN PEOPLE SAY IT CAN'T BE DONE THAT SHOULD GIVE YOU THE MOTIVATION THAT IT CAN BE DONE' THAT'S A PRETTY TYPICAL QUOTE FROM THE MAN. THE WRITING IS STRAIGHT FORWARD AND PLAIN SPEAKING. THERE'S NO PRETENSION TOWARDS LITERARY GENIUS, BUT WHAT YOU HAVE HERE IS THE DEFINITIVE VOICE OF THE MAN AS IF YOU'RE CHATTING TO HIM IN THE PUB, BE IT ABOUT HIS FAMILY LIFE, EXPANDING BUSINESS INTERESTS INTO INDIA, THEN CHINA, SEEING HIS FAMILY GROW AND ENJOYING THE REWARDS OF ALL THEIR EFFORTS AND FINALLY INTO RETIREMENT AFTER AN ACTION PACKED LIFE IN THE BIKE TRADE. 100% CERTAINLY CAPTURES THE FLAVOUR OF 7 DECADES OF BRITISH SOCIAL HISTORY AND PROVIDES A FASCINATING INSIGHT INTO LIFE BEHIND THE SCENES IN THE OLD STYLE BIKE TRADE. NEV MASON 100% ISBN NO. 9781910314 005 AND COMES IN TWO SOFT BACK FORMATS. THE SPECIAL EDITION WITH 150 PHOTOS COSTS £I1.95 WITH FREE UK DELIVERY WHILE THE STANDARD EDITION HAS NO PHOTOS AND COSTS £9.95 WITH FREE UK DELIVERY. THE PERIOD PHOTOS AND BROCHURES ARE FASCINATING HOWEVER. BOTH THE EDITIONS ARE AVAILABLE TOGETHER WITH ALL THE OTHER BOOKS NEV MASON HAS PRODUCED FROM www.nevmasonbooks.com

ROWENA HOSEASON


 

EXTRACTS FROM COMMENTS BY JOHN DICKINSON (EDITOR OF T&MX NEWS) IN HIS EMAIL OF 27.6.13

AFTER REVIEWING NEV MASON'S AUTOBIOGRAPHY 100%; 'YES I HAVE READ IT ALL, IN TRUTH I FOUND MYSELF READING IT WHEN I REALLY SHOULD HAVE BEEN WORKING.' 'PERSONALLY I FOUND THE WHOLE THING FASCINATING.' 'IT IS AMAZING THAT YOU COULD EASILY OUTSELL ALL THE SO-CALLED BIG DEALERS.' 'I MUST ADMIT I FOUND IT EXTREMELY ENJOYABLE BUT AS AN EXERCISE IN SETTING OUT YOUR LIFE STORY IT IS ABSOLUTELY EXCELLENT.' 'YOU HAVE CERTAINLY LIVED A FULL AND ACTION PACKED LIFE .'

JOHN


EXTRACTS FROM COMMENTS BY PETER BALLARD (PRESIDENT OF THE COSSACK OWNERS CLUB) IN HIS EMAIL OF 10.7.13 AFTER REVIEWING NEV MASON'S AUTOBIOGRAPHY 100%;
'LOVE THE BOOK THOUGH IT WILL SELL' 'A BRILLIANT BOOK, GETS THE FACTS DOWN WITH NO PADDING' 'FINISHED YOUR AUTOBIOGRAPHY, FASCINATING STUFF'
'AS THEY SAY, NOBODY EVER MADE MONEY OUT OF RUSSIAN BIKES, YER RIGHT.'

PETER


EXTRACT FROM A REVIEW BY OWEN EASTEAL - NETWORK NEWS, AFTER REVIEWING NEV MASON’S AUTOBIOGRAPHY 100%;
‘THE BOOK CAN BE THOROUGHLY RECOMMENDED NOT ONLY FOR THOSE INTERESTED IN ALL KINDS OF MOTORCYCLING BUT ALSO TO THOSE WHO ARE INTERESTED IN SOCIAL HISTORY AND INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS. MANY OF THE STORIES AND ANECDOTES ARE FASCINATING AND UNIQUE AND REFLECT TIMES WHICH ARE NOW NO MORE. THROUGHOUT THE BOOK THERE ARE GEMS OF WISDOM FROM NEV HIMSELF REFLECTING HIS GREAT EXPERIENCE OF LIFE. THESE ARE JUST AS RELEVANT TODAY AS DURING THE PAST 70 YEARS OF THE AUTHOR’S LIFE AND COULD SERVE AS USEFUL POINTERS TO WOULD BE ENTREPRENEURS TODAY.’

OWEN

REVIEW

NEV MASON - A BLUNT AND DIRECT AND VERY CLEVER YORKSHIRE MAN AND A SOMEWHAT UNRECOGNIZED GENIUS IN THINGS TWO WHEELED.

QUOTE SEAN PEPPER SAAB CARS HULL

REVIEW

NEV MASON, A VERY STRAIGHT TALKING CHARACTER AS MOST PEOPLE FROM THAT PART OF YORKSHIRE OFTEN ARE.

QUOTE MCN JOURNALIST


COMMENTS AND EXTRACTS FROM LETTER OF 17TH OF SEPTEMBER 2013 
“ IF YOU ONLY EVER READ ONE AUTOBIOGRAPHY IN YOUR LIFETIME YOU SHOULD READ NEV MASON’S BOOK 100%, YES THE MAIN STORY LINE MAYBE MOTORCYCLE RELATED BUT JUST HIS MANY DIFFERENT UNIQUE ACHIEVEMENTS IN STARTING UP NUMEROUS WORLD WIDE BUSINESSES FROM NOTHNG IS VERY INSPIRATIONAL TO READ.  THE RECORD OF HIS FAMILY’S LIFE COULD HAVE EASILY MADE A SEPARATE INTERESTING BOOK JUST ON ITS OWN, ITS NOT OFTEN THAT I READ A BOOK THAT CANNOT BE PUT DOWN ONCE IT IS STARTED BUT THIS IS ONE OF THOSE BOOKS.

EDWARD


COMMENTS AND EXTRACTS FROM EMAIL.
"NEV, YOUR BOOK 100% IS GETTING STEADILY MORE DOG-EARED, IT'S STILL THE TALK OF THE TOWN, EVERYBODY ENJOYS IT BUT THE THING THAT I REALLY NOTICE IS THEY DON'T STOP THERE THE READER IS KEEN TO DISCUSS, EXPRESS THEIR FEELINGS AND OPINIONS, AND VERY OFTEN SURPRISE. QUESTIONS VARY FROM: 'HOW WAS SO MUCH REMEMBERED?' 'I DON'T KNOW THAT!' 'NEVER READ ANYTHING LIKE IT!' 'I DIDN'T KNOW HE'D DONE THAT!' 'WHAT?' 'WHY?' AND 'HOW?'

IAIN LOMAX


COMMENTS AND EXTRACT FROM EMAIL OF 26TH DECEMBER 2013. 
WELL DONE THAT MAN! I WAS FINALLY GIVEN MY COPY OF 100% YESTERDAY MORNING AS PART OF MY CHRISTMAS PRESENTS. I HAVE JUST FINISHED THE BOOK - COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN. I FOUND THE ACCOUNT OF NEV'S LIFE AND THE FAMILY'S HISTORY FASCINATING. I PARTICULARLY ENJOYED HIS NO-FRILLS STYLE OF NARRATION.

ADRIAN FOSTER


COMMENTS AND EXTRACTS FROM LETTER DATED 9TH OCTOBER 2013.
100% TRULY DOES MAKE FASCINATING READING, SHOWING JUST HOW ONE PERSON CAN CREATE SO MANY DIFFERENT, SUCCESSFUL BUSINESSES. IT'S A REAL LESSON IN WHAT BELIEVING IN YOURSELF AND YOUR ABILITIES CAN ACHIEVE IN LIFE FOR YOUR FAMILY.

TOM


EXTRACTS FROM AN E MATL OF 10TH AUGUST 2014.
HI NEV,
I HAVE FINALLY FOUND THE TIME TO READ YOUR AUTOBIOGRAPIIY, 100% AND MUST SAY IT WAS A REALLY ENJOYABLE READ.  WHAT A FASCINATING LIFE YOU HAVE LED. YOUR MOTORBIKE TALES BROUGHT BACK MANY MEMORTES FROM MY BIKING DAYS. ANYWAY, THANKS AGAIN FOR A EXCELLENT READ AND A TRIP DOWN MEMORY LANE. IT WOULD BE NICE TO MEET YOU ONE DAY.  CHEERS AND ALL THE BEST TO YOU AND VAL.

MICHAEL HINGLEY


EXTRACT FROM EMAIL DATED 30 MARCH 2014  AUTHOR NEV MASON'S LATEST BOOK: THE FISH LAD'S
THE PROLIFIC AUTHOR, NEV MASON, HAS JUST PUBLISHED A NEW ADVENTURE SET DURING THE YEARS OF THE SECOND WORLD WAR. IT CONCERNS A FAMILY WHO LOST THEIR DAD IN THE FIGHTING AND WHO TURNED TO FISHING USING NETS PLACED IN THE RIVER HUMBER.AS WITH ALL NEV'S BOOKS, THE CHARACTERS DISPLAY GREAT FORTITUDE AND INITATIVE AND BUILD UP THE BUSINESS DURING THE DIFFICULT TIMES OF RATIONING.
THE BOOK CONCLUDES WITH AN UNEXPECTED HAPPY ENDING.

OWEN - NETWORK NEWS


THE BOAT TRIP

THE LATEST BOOK FROM NEV MASON IS CALLED "THE BOAT TRIP" AND RELATES THE STORY OF TWO YOUNG MEN WHO DREAMED OF SAILING THE WORLD IN THEIR NEWLY PURCHASED EX-CUSTOMS CUTTER, THE "PELICAN".

 

UNFORTUNATELY NEITHER OF THEM HAD EVER HAD ANY EXPERIENCE IN NAVIGATING RIVERS AND CERTAINLY NOT THE OCEANS. AFTER PREPARING THE BOAT WHICH HAD BEEN LAID UP ON DRY LAND FOR SOME TIME, THEY LOWERED THE CRAFT INTO THE WATER AND IT SLOWLY FILLED WITH WATER DUE TO THE FACT THAT THE PLANKS HAD DRIED OUT. WHEN ALL WAS WELL ONCE AGAIN THEY SET OFF TO A MOORING WHICH MEANT THAT THEY HAD TO NAVIGATE LOCKS AND FAST-FLOWING TIDAL WATER. THEY MANAGED TO ANGER THE CAPTAINS OF OTHER VESSELS AS THEY HAD NEITHER A NOTION OF SEAMANSHIP NOR OF THE RULES OF THE RIVER. BEING ENGAGED IN BUSINESS THEY THOUGHT THAT THEY WOULD SELL THE "PELICAN" FOR A PROFIT AND SOON FOUND A BUYER IN NEWARK ON THE RIVER TRENT. THE DELIVERY VOYAGE PROVED TO BE BOTH DIFFICULT AND FRIGHTENING BUT FINALLY THEY ARRIVED AND HAD A VERY PLEASANT SURPRISE FROM THE NEW OWNER. ALL'S WELL THAT ENDS WELL AS ONE OF THE YOUNG MEN, ALEX" ALSO FOUND THE LOVE OF HIS LIFE DURING THE TRIP UP RIVER. THE BOOK HAS GREAT DETAIL ON THE MECHANICAL SIDE DUE TO NEV'S WIDE EXPERIENCE IN THIS FIELD. THE BOOK CAN BE THOROUGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR BOTH YOUNGER READERS AND THOSE WITH SOME KNOWLEDGE OF BOATS AS THE ANTICS OF THE CAPTAIN AND HIS CREW ARE HIGHLY AMUSING.

NETWORK NEWS


EXTRACTS FROM AN EMAIL FROM JOHN HARROP (26.10.2014)

HI NEV, THANKS A LOT NEV,  100% WHAT A GREAT BOOK I HAVE FOUND OUT LOTS OF THINGS I DID NOT KNOW. ALL THE BOOKS ARE GREAT, I HAVE HAD RUSSIAN BIKES FOR FORTY YEARS NOW, BEEN A BIG FAN OF NEVALS OVER THE YEARS, KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK AND TAKE IT STEADY. MY GRANDSON LOVES YOUR BOOKS TOO, ALL THE BEST.

JOHN

 John Harrop Review